Second Place Success for Boys' School Soapbox Derby Team!

March 12, 2013 at 10:03 AM

10.3.13 skbs soap box derby team (1).JPGIn their fifth year of competition, the Boys’ School has retained its position in the top placings of the Auckland Soap Box Derby competition with a second place overall, qualifying them for the national competition in April.

Racing a white car for the first time, the three Boys’ School teams of drivers and pit crew were determined to build on the success of previous years. They’ve always been placed amongst the best at the regional competition but are hoping for national success. Their second placing sets them on the right path.

The boys are fortunate to have an easy access downhill training ground at school…the removal of the speed bumps on the road past Roselle House provides the perfect track! With drivers and pit crew chosen, the boys were keen to get into competition at the track in Mt Wellington.

Thirteen schools were competing for line honours, including the Girls’ School who were racing for the first time. Each school team had four drivers who raced three times each in the qualifying rounds, supported by their pit crew who were responsible for all pre-race preparation including weighing, carrying and positioning the race car on the starting ramp.

The boys raced really well, with Luke Burton timed as our fastest driver. Luke represented the Boys’School in the semi -finals…competing against the Girls’ School team; an exciting race with a photo finish! The Boys’ School team were declared the winners and went on to race Meadowbank School in the finals where they were runners up.

The final results from this great day of racing named the Saint Kentigern Boys’ School Team as second overall, which has qualified them for the National Competition to be held on 7 April in Whangaparoa.

Our sincere thanks to the wonderful support from our team parents and staff and to the Saint Kentigern families who came along on the day and cheered on our boys. In particular, our thanks go to Wayne and Amanda Leach (Winger) for the sponsorship of the team uniform and car. We also thank David Abbott (technical director), Jane Abbott (strategic planning), Rhys and Kyria Warren (hospitality hosts) and Rachel and Robert Lerner (communications and video).

Boys’ School Team

Luke Burton
Timothy Leach
Benjamin Lerner
Jordan Warren

Pit Crew
Quade Turfus- Mackenzie
Leo van der Kroft
Thomas Vaughan
Charles Hill
Joshua Korpus
Maxwell Smith
Samuel Looker
Joshua Wong

Back to News List