Second National Win for Girls' Cycling

September 30, 2013 at 1:11 PM

The cycling season concluded with some great results for our College cyclists at the National Secondary Schools Cycling Championships held over the weekend, with the highlights being national titles for both the Year 7&8 Boys and Senior Girls A teams and an individual gold for Ayden Lamont in the U17 Boys event.

On day one, thirteen of our Team Trial teams competed at Koputaroa, 40 minutes south of Palmerston North. Battling difficult road and weather conditions, the day started with the Year 7&8 Boys event, with the A Team (Callum Walsh, Ryan Church and Dylan McCullough) producing an impressive win to complete a clean sweep of titles for the year. This was followed up by a 5th place for the B team comprising Year 7 boys.  

The Senior Girls A Team, defending their National Title from last year, produced an outstanding and dominant performance. The team of Madeline Evans, Josie Clow, Cassandra and Mikayla Harvey and Elizabeth Mudford showed solid team dynamics in strong winds to claim back-to-back titles. The girls said it was a really tough race and had to wait for the results to see if they had done enough to win.  Well done girls!

The Junior Boys and Girls teams performed admirably with the A teams recording pleasing results of 4th and 6th respectively.  In the final race of day one, the Senior A Boys team finished in 5th place in an extremely competitive field.

On day two, based around the streets of Feilding, 51 College cyclists competed individually in various age groups in the road race.

In the U17 Boys, Ayden Lamont won impressively with a powerful sprint in a bunch finish. Despite crashing on the lap 2 of the race, Ayden positioned himself perfectly on the final stretch in a well-timed sprint to take the title.

Over the challenging course, there were many impressive results, with many top 10 results.

Highlights of the National Secondary School Cycling Competition

Team Results:

1st: Senior Girls A (Madeline Evans, Josie Clow, Cassandra and Mikayla Harvey and Elizabeth Mudford)

1st: Year 7&8 Boys A (Callum Walsh, Ryan Church and Dylan McCullough)

Individual Results:

U17 Boys: Ayden Lamont, 1st
U13 Boys: Dylan McCullough, 2nd
U13 Boys: Callum Walsh, 3rd
U16 Girls: Elizabeth Mudford, 4th
U16 Girls: Mikayla Harvey, 3rd
U20 Girls: Josie Clow, 2nd 

More results to come following Monday's racing 30 September 2013. 

Back to News List