North Island Medal Haul for College Cyclists

July 13, 2017 at 10:08 AM

Congratulations to our Saint Kentigern College cyclists who had a very successful few days competing in the North Island School Road Cycling and Track Cycling Championships held in Cambridge. Despite the forecast, the weather conditions remained good, albeit crisp, as our cyclists pushed through to many top five places and medal contention.

A special mention to the Year 7&8 Girls team who won gold in the Team Time Trial, Year 8 student, Sophie De Vries who won gold in the U14 Road Race and the U14 Criterium, Year 11 student, Cameron Manley who won gold in the U17 Road Race and U17 Boys 5 Lap Keirin Final.

The Senior Girls had a great ride to claim silver in the Team Time Trial, with the Senior Boys and Junior Girls both securing bronze.


Team Time Trial 
Year 7 & 8 Team              Gold
Sophie De Vries, Finn Bilsborough, Ruby Spring, Jacinta Birch

U16 Junior Girls Team    Bronze

Emma Hannan, Sacha McLeod, Sophie Spencer, Zara Jancys
Senior Girls Team            Silver

Jamie Lindsay, Kate Fouche, Anna Wilkinson, Annabelle Waterworth, Maddison Clarke 

Senior Boys Team           Bronze

Sam Titter-Dower, Daniel Whitburn, Callum Walsh, Dylan McCullough and Jacob Hannan

Individual Road Race

U14        Sophie De Vries                Gold 
U15        Emma Hannan                  Silver
U17       Cameron Manley                Gold
U17        Callum Walsh                    Silver

U13       Ruby Spring                       Bronze
U14        Sophie De Vries                  Gold

Saint Kentigern was also 3rd best school overall which is a great achievement!


Following the road races, many of our cyclists went on to compete in the North Island Track Championships in Cambridge. Saint Kentigern cyclists were in many of the top 5 places across all age groups and events with the following students medalling:
U15 Girls 2km Point Race Final                   Sacha McLeod                   Silver
U15 Girls 3km Points Race Final                  Sacha McLeod                  Silver
U14 Girls 9 Lap Points Final                        Sophie De Vries                Bronze
U17 Boys 5 Lap Keirin Final                        Cameron Manley               Gold
U15 Boys 1500m Scratch Final                   Ben Connell                       Bronze
U17 Boys 4KM Scratch Final                       Callum Walsh                    Silver 

Back to News List