Girls' School Swimming Championships 2016

March 07, 2016 at 4:11 PM

The 2016 Girls’ School Swimming Sports will be remembered for a long time, and not just for the exceptional swimming and sportsmanship the girls displayed. The event was scheduled to take place over two days, but the timetable had to be revised after a fire started in the school hall on the first morning! The races were postponed for a day and the girls revived the House rivalry and battle for individual titles, unfazed in front of a large crowd of parents and supporters.

The Year 4-8 girls competed in a range of 100, 50 and 25m lengths and pushed each other right to the final stroke. The Junior School competitors raced up to 25m in freestyle, backstroke and breaststroke and gained House points in the seahorse fun race which capped off the second day. Senior students joined them in the pool to cheer them on and help them finish.  

When all of the points were tallied, Wishart House was declared overall Swimming Sports champions for the third year in a row.

Congratulations to Wishart and all of the individual Year group winners!




Year 8

Florence Dallow (W)

Addison Peebles (CA)

Elyse Tse (CA)

Year 7

Eva Colyer (CA)

Isobel Li (W)

Kate Frazer (CA)

Year 6

Bridget Dennis (W)

Billie Frecker Netten (W)

Grace Gilbert (W)

Year 5

Frances Revell-Devlin (W)

Hannah Piper (CH)

Darcy McDonald (CA)

Year 4

Sienna Hirst (CH)

Sienna Haar (W)

= Olive Rose Gofton (H)

= Sahara Knottenbelt (W)

= Caroline Healy (W)

=  Priscilla Zhong (CH)

Year 3

Ashley Cheeseman (H)

Natasha Appleton-Dyer (H)

= Sophie Grant (CH)

= Charlotte Ray (H)

Year 2

= Chloe Chester (W)

= Charlotte Albrecht (H)


= Alexi Bower (W)

= Brooke Rowntree (CA)

Year 1

Violet Lindsay-Smail (CH)

Daniella Gillard (CA)

= Olivia Lidstone (CA)

= Molly Griffiths (CH)


Overall Champions


Bridget Dennis


Florence Dallow


Wishart – 1st

Cargill – 2nd

Chalmers – 3rd

Hamilton – 4th

Click here to see more photos: Girls' School Swimming Sports 2016

Back to News List