Year 8 Girls are Football Champions!

July 31, 2018 at 1:11 PM

Whilst the rest of Saint Kentigern was on holiday last week, our Year 8 Girls’ Football team, having earlier won the South Eastern Zone competition, gathered at Western Springs AFC to compete against the champion teams from the other Auckland zones for the title of Champion of Champions. 

Many of these same girls played in the team last year as Year 7s, winning the Champion of Champions title for the first time in Saint Kentigern’s history. The team, comprising a mix of girls from both the College and the Girls’ School, were setting out to be the first to defend that title! 

The girls played five matches over a four-hour period in a round robin competition, with no play offs; just straight points. 

Even having secured wins in their first four matches, including a 1-0 victory against a very strong Murray’s Bay team, a loss against Baradene (another very strong team) in the last match could have left the Saint Kentigern girls in third place. However, the girls battled on to achieve a well-deserved 0-0 draw and the back-to-back title of Champion of Champions for 2018. 

The team consisted of the following players from the College (C) and the Girls’ School (GS):
Arya Blackler (GS) – Captain, Briar Richards (C), Ruby Spring (C), Charlotte Funnell (C), Emily Ramsden (C), Charlotte Richardson (C), Emily Clark (C), Charlotte Snookes (C), Coco du Temple (C), Danielle Levy (GS), Libby Yee (GS)

Back to News List