Six Cricket Awards

December 02, 2016 at 3:15 PM

At the recent awards night hosted by Auckland Cricket, Saint Kentigern players and coaches were honoured to be recognised with a number of awards acknowledging their high level of achievement in 2016.

The Year 9/10 Colts team were awarded the John O'Connor Trophy; the Boys’ Premier 1st Xl received the Premier RH Marryatt Cup for winning the One Day competition earlier in the year. Girls’ Premier 1st Xl team member, Olivia Dodd was named Premier Girls’ Wicket Keeper of the Year and Saint Kentigern was also awarded the Premier Spirit of Cricket Award.

The final secondary school awards for the evening went to our Premier Cricket coaching staff, with both Mr Ben Williams and Mr Greg Haines named as Coaches of the Year, testament to the fantastic work the pair has undertaken this year to lift the level of play at the College across all grades but especially at Premier level.

Our players have benefited greatly this year from the opening late last year of the indoor training facility for cricket on the College campus. The building has four full-length pitches, three of which have run-ups for pace bowlers and one for spinners. Well lit, the facility allows for extended access throughout the year, regardless of weather, for training.  

Our congratulations to the all these students and their coaches for being recognised at Auckland level. It’s been a great year of cricket!

Back to News List