Seven ASB 'YSPOTY' awards For College students

November 29, 2013 at 9:06 AM

The annual ASB College Sport Young Sportsperson of the Year Awards and were held last night at the Ellerslie Convention Centre to honour the best student athletes in Auckland across the 32 sanctioned college sports. The top three students in Auckland are selected as finalists in each sport and this year Saint Kentigern College was proud to have 18 finalists. Over 600 people attend this formal dinner to celebrate the best athletes and their successes this year. During the night all students went across the stage for their appropriate sports and the winners were announced. We are delighted that seven of our nominees were named as the overall winners for their sport which confirms our great sporting programme at Saint Kentigern. This is the second year that Francesca Wilkinson, William Raea and Paige Hourigan have received awards.

Matthew Ridenton and Maia Jean Watene were unable to attend on the night as Matthew has left for Wellington to start his contract with the Pheonix and Maia Jean is away representing NZ in the Maori Women’s Basketball team in Wellington this week

The MC for the night was Old Collegian, Jordan Vandermade who hadn’t forgotten his Saint Kentigern roots!

Madeline Evans All Rounder Award
Francesca Wilkinson Girls’ Cricket
Matthew Ridenton Boys’ Football
Blake Gibson Rugby
Paige Hourigan Girls’ Tennis
William Matheson Boys’ Tennis
William Raea Boys’ Touch

Madeline Evans, All Rounder; Francesca Wilkinson, Cricket; Madeline Evans, Distance Running; Matthew Ridenton, Football; Joanna Kim, Golf; Sam Jimmieson, Hockey; Richmond Lum, Hockey; TJ Faiane, Rugby Union; Blake Gibson, Rugby Union; Kelly Drew, Tennis; Paige Hourigan, Tennis; Trent Smith, Tennis; William Matheson, Tennis; Maia Jean Watene, Touch; William Raea, Touch; Josie Clow, Triathlon/Duathlon/Multisport; Madeline Evans, Triathlon/Duathlon/Multisport; Tim Mudford, Triathlon/Duathlon/Multisport.

Paige Hourigan, William Raea and Blake Gibson were also finalists for the overall sport person of the year.

Back to News List