Saint Kentigern Triathletes Enjoy Success

April 02, 2015 at 1:28 PM

The popular location of Lake Taupo was the venue for the 2015 New Zealand Schools Triathlon Championship. Thirty two Saint Kentigern College triathletes lined up to show-case their season’s training efforts over four events: the Open Water Swim, the Aquathon, the Triathlon and the Tag Team Triathlon.

Dominant all four events was Dylan McCullough who claimed three New Zealand titles and a silver medal over the two days. Dylan gained gold in the Aquathon, Triathlon and as anchor for the three person Tag Team Triathlon, after narrowly missing the Gold against a specialist swimmers in the Open Water Swimming Championship. Of note is that Dylan lead from start to finish in every multi-sport race he has contested representing Saint Kentigern College this year.

The blue and white of Saint Kentigern was also on the podium in the feature event of the day the Senior Boys (Under 19) Triathlon. Liam Ward raced with a smart race strategy and full determination to gain Silver against formidable opposition. Similarly Sophie Wilkinson showed she is a triathlete to watch in the years to come achieving Bronze in the Under 16 Girls Triathlon.

In the very popular teams event where schools present their best in each discipline Saint Kentigern College proved to be successful with three Gold and one Silver. Our first Gold in the Tag Team Triathlon Championship was in the Junior Boys: Cameron Church (swim) Callum Walsh (cycle), Dylan McCullough (run), this was followed by the Junior Girl’s win: Olivia Overfield (swim), Sophie Wilkinson (cycle), Maddy Clarke (run). Our third Gold was by Senior Girls with the very competitive line-up of Emma Hanley (swim), Lizzy Mudford (cycle) and Isabella Richards (run).  In the final event, the Senior Boys gained Silver with a gallant display of determination from Tom Moulder (swim), James Fouche (cycle) and Liam Ward (run).

The Saint Kentigern College Triathlon Team was once again successful in taking the prestigious Best Overall School Trophy, based on best placings in both the individual and teams categories. This is the thirteenth time the College has won this Award.


Back to News List