Quadrangular Win Great Start to the Winter Season

May 04, 2021 at 12:58 PM

For three days during the April holidays, our Saint Kentigern 1st XV joined fellow Presbyterian school teams, tournament hosts, Scots College from Wellington, St Andrew’s College from Christchurch and Lindisfarne College from Hawkes Bay, for the Annual Presbyterian Quadrangular Rugby Tournament. Bound together by our strong Presbyterian roots with links to Scotland, the tournament is keenly contested each year by the 1st XVs from each school.

Now in its 29th year, with each school taking it in turn to host the tournament, many players have taken to the field over the years since its inception. Played as a knockout tournament, each team traditionally begins by playing the team it did not play the previous year. This year, Saint Kentigern was first matched against St Andrew’s College, winning their first game of the winter season 45-21. With Scots beating Lindisfarne in the first round, Saint Kentigern and Scots met in a tense final that was streamed live on Sky TV with commentary by Scots old boy, Ken Laban and All Black, Ardie Savea. Once again, Saint Kentigern proved the stronger team, winning 30-22.

As much as the competitive spirit of the tournament is important, so is the fellowship between our schools and the opportunity for new friendships to be forged. This carried through into the evening of the first day of play, when the formal Quadrangular Dinner was held in the amazing setting of the Banqueting Hall at Parliament!

With the Auckland 1A competition due to start, the tournament was a great opportunity for our boys to get some early season game time. We sincerely thank Scots College for hosting us, it was a thoroughly memorable event.

Team: Jade Stewart Co-captain, Ben Ake Co-captain, Ezekiel Kolo, Ethan Agaimalo, Jack Bennett, Maddox Grindstaff-Calway, Nick Morton, Kawa Kiri, Rawiri Martin, Saipele Tito, Tetauru Cuthers, Eli Pearce, Zaid Bharuchi, Xavi Taele, Siale Pahulu, Dickie Terepo, Zae Mangu, Frazer Brown, Taylor Kerr, Josh Crenfeldt Smith, Andrew Aniterea, Kiyaan Manukonga, Connor Kake, Harry Fayers. Coach: Tasesa Lavea. Assistant Coaches: Sherwin Stowers and Shalom Senara. Manager: Ben Salt.


Photo Credit: Mark Tantrum Photography

Back to News List