National Title For Boys' School Cricket 1st XI

November 19, 2020 at 9:49 AM

Having beaten Sacred Heart, Balmoral Intermediate, Murray’s Bay and King’s School in the Auckland Active Cup, the Boys’ School Cricket 1st XI team earned the right to represent Auckland at the National competition in Palmerston North this week.

The team, accompanied by Mr Steve Aucamp (Coach) and Mr Grayson Aspinall (Manager), flew down on Sunday and went straight to Manawaroa Park to practise. That evening, New Zealand Cricket hosted all the teams for a BBQ dinner and an official Opening Ceremony where our 1st XI Captain, Marco Alpe, introduced his players to the audience and the rest of the competitors.

The other teams vying for the cup were: Marian Catholic School (Hamilton), Hereworth School (Hawkes Bay), Raroa Intermediate (Wellington), Waihi School (Canterbury) and Queenstown Primary School (Otago).

The next three days were full on with five matches to play. The boys beat Marian Catholic School and Raroa Intermediate on Monday, Queenstown Primary and Waihi School on Tuesday, and then faced a limited 10 over match on Wednesday against Hereworth School as rain set in. Both teams were unbeaten at this point so this was a true final with crucial points at stake. Hereworth made 59/6 off their 10 overs whilst Saint Kentigern made 62/0 off 6 overs to win the match by 6 wickets – and the National title!

There was some outstanding play by the boys. Of note, Marco Alpe made 208 runs, scored at an average of 69, 6 stumpings and 3 catches. Ollie Davies made 183 runs scored at an average of 61 and Harry Waite took 16 wickets and was the highest wicket taker for the tournament.

At the final closing ceremony, Marco Alpe was named MVP of the National Tournament and our overall MVP for our team (due to Marco winning the tournament accolade) was Ollie Davies.

This is the first time that Saint Kentigern Boys’ School has won this tournament – a very fine achievement! Well done boys!

Marco Alpe (Captain), Ollie Davies (Vice Captain - Fielding), Harry Waite (Vice Captain), Fergus Allan, William Barclay, Joel Gardner, Thomas McCulloch, Harry McLeod, Carter McMahon, Sam Openshaw, Fergus Williams.

Our sincere thanks to Andrew Cornaga from Photosports for supplying the photos

Back to News List