GOLD for Girls Cycling at North Island Championships

July 08, 2015 at 9:27 AM

Damp and challenging conditions presented the Saint Kentigern cyclists at the North Island Secondary School Cycling Championships held at Lake Karapiro during the second week of the holidays. In total there were 54 cyclists competing over a variety of events including the team time trial, road race, criterium, as well track events being held on the Avantidrome (Indoor Velodrome) in Cambridge. Expectations were high as this was an accumulation of 12 weeks solid training and racing and the first indicator of National Championships aspirations held in late September.

Team Trial

4 girls and 6 boys time trial teams competed on Saturday morning with pleasing results all-round.  The highlight of the morning being the 1st place result by the Senior Girls A Team by 7 seconds. This result followed very good performances from our Junior Boys Team (2nd) and the 7&8 Girls team (3rd). The Senior Boys placed 4th in a highly competitive field where the difference between 2nd and 5th was only seconds.

Road Race

In large fields over difficult terrain and roads with cyclists needing to back up from the morning’s time trial there were some pleasing results from a number of cyclists

Kate Fouche (3rd – U16 Girls)
Dylan McCullough (3rd – U 15 Boys)
James Fouche (3rd – U 20 Boys) 

Top 10 results
Maddy Park (5th – U 17 Girls)
Callum Walsh (5th – U 15 Boys)
Emma Hannan (8th – U 14 Girls)
Annabelle Waterworth (9th – U 15 Girls)
Liam Cappel (9th – U 17 Boys)
Claudia Spain (6th - U15 Girls)
Simone Nightingale (10th -U20 Girls)
Jacob Hannan (10th - U15 Boys)


Over a fast, tight and exciting course for both cyclists and spectators, Sunday morning’s racing presented a whole set of different challenges over varying distances. Yet again the Blue and White was represented well in results.

James Fouche (2nd – U 20 Boys)
Dylan McCullough (2nd – U 15 Boys)
Kate Fouche (3rd – U 16 Girls)
Maddy Park (3rd – U 16 Girls)
Liam Cappel (3rd – U 17 Boys)

Top 10 results
Emma Hannan (4th – U 14 Girls)
Callum Walsh (4th – U 15 Boys)
Sam Titter-Dower (4th – U 17 Boys)
Ben Connell (5th – U 13 Boys) 
Jacob Hannan (8th - U15 Boys)
Claudia Spain (7th - U15 Girls
Jamie Lindsay 8th - U17 Girls)
Ayden Lamont (10th - U20 Boys)

Back to News List