Football Girls NZ Champs!

September 11, 2017 at 3:37 PM

In an absolutely stellar season, the Premier Girls Football team has earned three major titles: Auckland Premier Champions, Auckland Knockout Cup Champions and now the New Zealand title contested during Winter Tournament Week in Taupo! 

The girls went unbeaten throughout the Auckland season with just two draws against Rangitoto and Mt Albert Grammar during league play. Having topped the Auckland League, they went on to beat Baradene 3-0 to win the Auckland Premier Championship title. 

Delighted with their win, which also secured them a place in the National competition, they headed to Taupo, during Tournament Week full of determination. Wins against Trident, Hutt Valley, Epsom Girls, Otumoetai and Westlake set them up for a semi-final against Westlake. A 2-0 win put them in title contention as they lined up for the final against solid rivals, Mt Albert Grammar, always a strong side when they meet our girls in all sporting codes. 

Mt Albert Grammar had previously won the championship many times and by half time the girls were down 2-0. Having come so far they weren’t about to concede and with the wind at their backs, they fought hard to catch up and level the score at 2-2 to take the game to extra time. 

This is where it became nail-bitingly close. With a 3-3 draw at the end of the first half of extra time, it went to 4-4 at the end of full time extra time, requiring a penalty shoot-out. Unbelievably, penalties were even after the first five each and then, after three rounds of sudden death, goalie Brooke Wylie made a fantastic save and the girls won the championship in what must have been the closest girls’ football final ever! 

Hannah Blake and fellow team player, Amy Waters bring a strong skill set to the game with their representative playing experience. Hannah plays for the NZU20 team and Amy for NZU17. 

Led by captain, Tate McGregor, this is a team who set out at the start of the season with a goal in mind, and through sheer determination and hard work have achieved it. Their training included a robust strength and conditioning programme, technical and tactical field sessions and sports psychology. Well done girls! 

Premier Girls XI Team: Hannah Blake, Helena Danesh-Clough, Elizabeth Ellis, Katelyn Gray, Ekaterina Lieshout, Grace Maddren, Henrietta Masson, Tate McGregor (captain), Charlotte Rowden, Erin Shields, Jemma Tasman-Jones, Gorgi Van Lienen, Amy Waters, Amber Whitley, Brooke Wielenga and Brooke Wylie.

Back to News List