College Premier Girls Cricket Team Win Again!

April 11, 2013 at 2:19 PM

The Premier Girls Cricket team have defended their title from last year and are now two times Auckland Champions after beating Epsom Girls in their final match. Saint Kentigern batted first reaching a modest total of 99 for 6 with Caitlin Dodd the stand out performer scoring a well-constructed 37 before being caught behind in the final over.

The second innings was pleasing with the Saint Kentigern girls defending their 99 in drizzly wet conditions. Rae Allright opened the bowling beautifully taking two early wickets to put Epsom Girls Grammer on the back foot. Christina Oscar followed Rae’s lead taking another two vital wickets in her three overs. Malaea Tangi took 2 more quick wickets before Isabella Ching sealed the deal,  finishing the innings with four tight overs conceding only 11 runs.

This match concludes another extremely successful season for the Premier Girls Cricket team who are once again undefeated all season and looking forward to their third consecutive National tournament in December. Special mention needs to go to Francesca Wilkinson who has scored numerous centuries this season which is extremely impressive given the twenty/twenty format being played. Both Rachel Goldstine and Lucy Eden have stepped up with the bat this year and the future appears bright with promising players like Caitlin Dodd, Isabella Ching, Christina Oscar, Rae Allright and Ella Mayhew all consistently performing well. 

Back to News List