College Girls' Cricket Team Third Time Auckland Champions!

March 22, 2013 at 1:02 PM

In another outstanding season of play, our Premier Girls Cricket team are proud of their results at the Auckland Championship tournament this week, remaining undefeated and winning the Auckland title.

The girls dominated in their pool play with Francesca Wilkinson leading the way with an unbeaten century against Avondale and 99 not out against Mt Roskill.  Christina Oscar took a five wicket bag against Avondale and Year 10 student, Rae Allright showed impressive consistency with the ball, also taking a four wicket haul in one game. Lucy Eden showed leadership with the gloves and provided stability in the top order with her batting. Isabella Ching made valuable contributions with her spin bowling and top order batting.

The final against Westlake girls was close with our 10th batter, Ella Mayhew scoring 2 runs off her first ball to win the game and tournament for Saint Kentigern.

The girls were pleased to receive their trophy at Full School Assembly the following day, presented by Suzie Bates who was a former Captain of the New Zealand Women’s Cricket Team at the World Cup in India where she was named player of the tournament. She is a double international as she also went to the Olympics in 2008 with the Women’s Basketball team.

This is the third year in a row that our Premier Girls Cricket team have been named Auckland Champions at the tournament which also means they qualify for Nationals in Palmerston North later this year in December. The girls are hoping to better their 5th place ranking at Nationals last year.

Girls Premier Cricket Team:

Captains: Christina Oscar and Francesca Wilkinson

Caitlin Dodd, Isabella Ching, Malaea Tangi, Lucy Eden, Rachel Goldstine, Ella Mayhew, Rae Allright, Victoria Wong, Tash Leishman, Amelia Ayres, Ainslie Paxton, Ishara Dhambagola.  

Back to News List