Champions of the Auckland Schools Debating Tournament

April 06, 2023 at 4:42 PM

Our College Premier Debating Team, SKC1 comprising of Chris Ye, Lucia Tang and Avik Mehta, emerged champions of the Auckland Schools Debating Championships held last weekend. As one of the most prestigious debating tournaments, the competition brought together the best teams from over 30 schools. Eight best teams were then selected from the initial rounds of debates to progress into the knockout series.

Teams battled hard on a range of topics such as whether home-schooling should be banned, if countries with poor human rights records should be prohibited from hosting international sporting events and if free public transport should be provided by the government.

Our SKC1 team won all debates and successfully progressed into the knockout rounds. They faced St Cuthbert’s College in the quarter-final, and ACG Parnell in the semi-finals, before progressing into the Grand Final, where they were up against host school Auckland Grammar.

In a spectacular show of superbly crafted oratory, our SKC1 team triumphed over Auckland Grammar, winning the tournament unbeaten. Chris Ye was named the best overall speaker in the tournament and has been selected to represent Auckland in the Auckland White regional team. 

Congratulations Chris, Lucia and Avik on your victory and well done to our two other College teams SKC2 (Fiona Yan, Ben Mercer, Kyden Chan) and SKC3 (Ethan Liu, Ricky Shen, Orlando Ye) on your good work at the championship. 

Special thanks to Old Collegian and former World Schools representative debater Arunabh Prakash for your outstanding work and dedication in coaching our team.

Back to News List