Boys’ School Prefect Commissioning

February 21, 2024 at 4:17 PM

The official commissioning of our prefects marks the commencement of a new year of leadership within the school. Each group of boys brings a distinct set of qualities, strengths, and passions that will drive the student body forward throughout the year.

During each commissioning ceremony, the incoming prefects make a pledge to serve their school to the best of their abilities. They receive their badges and formalise their commitments by signing an agreement, solidifying the promises they have made. Once again, this year’s cohort has vowed to uphold the values of Saint Kentigern – respect, integrity, service, excellence, and love – as the guiding principles of their mission.

The chapel service was also attended by several notable guests from the College. Principal Mr Damon Emtage was accompanied by the Head Boy, Ricky Shen, and his Deputy, Sam McLeod. Both with their roots in the Boys’ School, honoured the occasion with their attendance. Ricky, who attended Years 4 to 6 at the Boys’ School before progressing to the College in Year 7, and Sam, a ‘lifer’ who began his journey in Year 0 and continued through Year 8, where he assumed the role of Sports Prefect.

In his address to the prefects and the student body, Ricky presented a thoughtful analogy, holding up a piece of paper. “I want you to imagine this year as a blank piece of paper, an unmarked sheet that you get to decide what to do with... you have a choice: to either do the bare minimum to get by the year or to rise up to the challenge to leave this place better than it was before.” He emphasised that these marks should have a positive effect on those around them as a product of servant leadership. 

The prefects will hit the ground running with a camp in Term 1, summer sports starting up, and classroom learning underway, we look forward to watching them begin to mark their blank canvas. Together, we know they will leave a legacy, the true essence of which will become apparent as they pass the torch to the next generation of leaders at the year’s end.


Congratulations to our 2024 prefects:

Head Boy: Harry Simpson

Harry started as a Year 0 student – another ‘lifer!’ That year he was awarded the Deans Certificate of Merit in Term 3, marking the first of many acknowledgements throughout his school years confirming is a boy that strives to be excellent. This attitude has overflowed outside the classroom to his many extra-curriculars, including, school council, touch, football, hockey, sailing, run club, Kapa Haka, as a librarian, and in writing competitions. We look forward to his leadership as he is poised to tackle challenges with determination and effort, using his endless energy to serve the student body.

Deputy Head Boy: Tommy Wright

Starting out as a Year 4 student, Tommy is described by his first teacher, Mr Graham Knox, as a determined boy with a positive outlook on all he does. He channelled his determination as he found his feet over the next few years, immersing himself in a wide array of activities within the school – run club, hockey, cricket, basketball, winning the Middle School speech competition, Science Symposium, Kapa Haka, and was consistently awarded several class end-of-year prizes for his service and commitment. His diverse experience in school life and determination make him an excellent leader, able to relate to students of many interests. We are confident in his abilities to lead the school forward this year.

Chapel: Christian Buchanan
Academic: Ray Yang
Cultural: Ryan Yeh
Sports: Alex Grant
Council: Henry Hewes
Sustainability: Benji Roberts
Junior School: Nicholas Fail
Middle School: Hamish Turnbull
Head Librarian: Nathan Kirkham
Cargill: Sam Priscott and James Deacon
Chalmers: Noah Hammond and Penisoni Pome'e
Hamilton: Adam Hood and Dylan Taylor
Wishart: Christian Tu'akoi and Daniel Cooney

Back to News List