Boys’ School Auckland Hockey Champions

August 05, 2021 at 1:43 PM

With thanks to Boys’ School teacher and hockey coach, Mrs Betsie Warner

After their earlier success at the Eastern Zone Tournament, the Boys’ School 1st XI Hockey team represented the zone at the Auckland Intermediate Schools Interzone Hockey Tournament. Playing at the new North Harbour stadium, the scene was set for a full day of Hockey.

The boys won their three pool games against Waimauku 4-0 , Blockhouse Bay 2-0 and Pinehurst 1-0 with Pinehurst proving to be the most challenging game of the morning.

With solid leadership on the field from Captain, Jacob Hageman and VC, Max Trankels, all the team worked hard, showing their ability to switch quickly from attacking to defence and no goals were scored against them. As winners of Pool A, they progressed through to the semi-finals to play Reremoana, winning 3-0.

Before the final game, it was a case of resetting, discussing the need to give 100%, get the basics correct and keep the clear communication happening within the team. Discussion was had around the effects of complacency and the boys knew that it would be the hardest game of the day, with many feeling the effects of already completing four games.

The final was against Bucklands Beach Intermediate who had managed to beat Pinehurst in their semi-final.

Great teamwork from Saint Kentigern in the final game resulted in some excellent passing, pushing the ball wide and many attempts to score. The run of play would change quickly with our defence then having to work exceptionally hard. They were able to clear the ball time after time and we give special mention to Harry Nairn, Dylan O’Shanassy, Mikey Higgins, Ralph Temple and Jamie Bargery who marked tightly and prevented any of the opposition scoring.

The boys were pushed to their limits but rose to the occasion to come away with a 1-0 win – the winning goal scored by Max Trankels from a penalty corner. Max Lisnichenko, the goalie, was able to deflect any balls that did make it through the defenders, maintaining the run of no goals scored against them in the tournament. Throughout the day, Sam Collins, Ashaan Cordwell, Nikhil Govind, Anesh Jeram, Maxim Zurfleuh and Ben Worrall shared the other mid field and front-line positions– they must all be commended for their contribution to the team.

Through this outstanding team effort, the boys can now call themselves Auckland Champions.

TEAM: Jacob Hageman (Captain), Max Trankels (VC), Jamie Bargery, Sam Collins, Ashaan Cordwell, Nikhil Govind, Mikey Higgins, Anesh Jeram, Max Lisnichenko, Harry Nairn, Dylan O'Shanassy, Ralph Temple, Ben Worrall, Maxim Zurflueh.

Back to News List