Boys’ School Auckland Cricket Champions!

November 07, 2018 at 4:04 PM

In a fantastic day of cricket yesterday the Boys’ School Cricket 1st XI stormed through a semi-final and final to win the Auckland title in the New Zealand Active Cup T20 National Cricket Regional Tournament, qualifying them for a place at the National Tournament. 

The Boys’ School has had a stellar cricket season, with the team working their way through three rounds of pool play before winning the quarter-final against Blockhouse Bay, setting them up for yesterday’s final rounds of competition. 

Hosted at Keith Hay Park, on a day when the wind did not let up, the boys firstly faced St Peter’s in the semi-final, winning by 66 runs. The Boys’ School batted first and made 195 off 20 overs with top scorers - Cody O’Shanassy (77), Brendan Meyer (58), Hamish Aspinall (24) – playing a lead role in the team’s win. St Peter’s scored 129 off their 20 overs 

With one game under their belts, the boys regrouped for the final – against the Saint Kentigern Middle College team, who had also enjoyed a fantastic season of competitive play! 

With two determined teams of blue and white on the field, this match went much closer to the wire with the Boys’ School winning by just two wickets! The Middle College batted first and made 114 for 6 (Joseph Barker - 4 overs, 2 wickets for 16 runs) and the Boys’ School made 116 for 4 (Cody O’Shanassy - 59 not out). The two Saint Kentigern teams topped the Auckland competition, with the Boys’ School having the winning edge. 

The boys were ecstatic with their win and are now looking forward to the chance to compete at the National Finals in Christchurch from 18 to 21 November. Christchurch will host the six winning teams from the provinces with the hope of winning the national title.

Good luck boys! 

Boys’ School Cricket 1st XI

Brendan Meyer – Captain, Yash Khushal, Cody O’Shanassy, Hamish Aspinall, Brodey Warren, Ethan Hall, Sammy Hart, Ben James, Hugo Tierney, Max Johnson, Joseph Barker.

Coach – Grayson Aspinall, Co-Coach – Jonathan McInroy, Manager – Peter Nelson.

Back to News List