1st XV Off to World Champs in Japan

April 16, 2013 at 11:13 AM

After their last two stellar seasons winning the Auckland 1A title consecutively, the National Co-Ed title and the National Top Four Championship title, the College 1st XV are now counting down the days until they fly to Japan to contest the Sanix World Rugby Youth Invitational Tournament. The event features 16 teams, 8 from the host nation and a further 8 that includes teams from Australia, Canada, England, France, Korea, Russia and South Africa.

The boys fly via Thailand, spending a two training days at Vajiravudh College in Bangkok with a chance for some sightseeing before heading to their busy game schedule at the Global Arena in Fukuoka. We wish them all the best as they ‘take on the world!’

1st XV Squad: Harrison Marks, Matthew Corliss, Dalton Papalii, Pari Pari Osborne-Parkinson, Jethro Felemi, William Raea, Patrick Herbet, Fa’amanatuga Lafaele, Samuel Nock, William Phipps, Farrell Keil, Jerry Samania, Finaly Christie, Suliasi Vunivalu, Cody Wheeler, Thomas Sinclair, Blake Gibson, Samuela Taiseni, Jospeh Mitai, Tanielu Tele'a, Jonathan Cato, Jack Falloon, George Hollingworth, Matthew Morrison, Blake Knight, Blake Van Der Maas, Faase'e Faauli, Sesimani Tupou, TJ Faiane, Dillon Wihongi, Seketo'a Tameifuna

Our thanks to the following sponsors for their generous support of our players; Lexel, J C Walker, Safety Step, Mainfreight, Language Perfect, Placemakers KeriKeri, CMA Recycling, Anchor Milk, E & P Earthworks, 3 P Learning, Service Plus, Bridgeman Concrete, Floor Space, Bertelsen Harry Waters Ltd, Bob Cunningham Construction, Multi Track Storage, Pacific Sheet & Coil, TWC, H R Cement, Karaka Harbourside Estate, Crittall Arnold.

Pool Stage : April 28 - May 1 (Day off : April 30)
Final Stage : May 2 - 5 (Day off : May 3)

For more information on the competition click here:

Read a full article from the Howick Pakuranga Times:

Sanix World Rugby Youth Invitational Tournament
Participating teams

8 International  teams
・St. Joseph's Nudgee College (Australia)
・Earl Marriott Secondary School (Canada)
・Hartpury College(England)
・Lycee A.R. Lesage(France)
・Baekshin High School (Korea)
・Saint Kentigern College (New Zealand)
・Enisei-STM (Russia)
・Daniel Pienaar Technical High School (South Africa)

8 Japanese teams
・Meikei High School(Ibaragi)
・Kokugakuin Kugayama High School(Tokyo)
・Josho Gakuen High School(Osaka)
・Tokai University Gyosei High School(Osaka)
・Gose Industrial High School(Nara)
・Nagasaki Nanzan High School(Nagasaki)
・Saga Technical High School(Saga)
・Higashi Fukuoka High School (Fukuoka)


Back to News List